Traveling In Europe Cheaply

Hello Everyone!

I hope you all had a good holiday break! As mentioned in my last post, I want to use this post to talk about something a little more personal and less academic. For those of you interested in studying abroad in Europe, I am sure that you are wanting to use that time in Europe to travel between cities, right? Well today, I am going to briefly talk to you about my experience traveling through Europe, and how you can travel even on a college student budget.

While many of you were probably at home with your family for Christmas, I spent 12 days visiting 6 cities in 5 different countries. Now you are probably thinking, how is that even possible or “I bet that cost 1000s of dollars”. Actually, I spent around $550 total for my whole trip including transportation, food, accomodation, and miscellanious expenses. The key to traveling in Europe is to look at all possible public transportation options. Unlike the States, Europe has a very good bus and train network. Train tickets can be as cheap as $20 between countries if you book months in advance.

However, for this trip I chose to use buses, and there are several different companies in Europe (Eurolines, Flixbus, Slovak Lines, etc.) I chose to use Flixbus which operates throughout all of Europe with fares as low as $1. I recommend Flixbus if you can handle sitting in bus seats for several hours. The buses are comfortable and include Wifi! The best part is that Flixbus is currently offering 5 bus tickets for $100, and these tickets can be used for any city in Europe that Flixbus goes to. So I was able to travel to 5 countries for around $100 by Bus!

Hostels are well known in Europe, which are basically cheap “hotels” for college students and budget travelers. I recommened using Hostelworld to find good hostels in your destinations. Hostel beds can be as cheap as $3 in some cities per night, and the average in most cities is ten dollars per night. Lastly, many cities in Eastern Europe are extremely cheap destinations to visit where you can spend less than $30 a day to have a “luxury” experience in that city. I hope this post gave you a few ideas and answered a few of your questions regarding traveling in Europe. If you have any questions or would like more information, please feel free to contact me! Take care! Here’s a photo of me at the famous Parliament in Budapest.

img_4059

Leave a Reply

